July 6th fifa news the beach soccer world cup in numbers cropped
06 Jul 2015

The Beach Soccer World Cup in numbers

With so many World Cups already completed, here is a quick refresher on all the quick stats you need to know for this edition

Portugal 2015 will be the eighth edition of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup. Accordingly, FIFA.com has picked out eight numbers from the tournament's history books ahead of the big kick-off on 9 July.


950,728 The number of fans who have turned out for the 212 Beach Soccer World Cup matches held since the inaugural competition in 2005, which equates to 4,485 per game. Rio de Janeiro 2006 remains the most popular edition so far in terms of crowds, with an average attendance of 5,619.


286 goals were chalked up that year in Rio, making it the highest-scoring edition to date. Dubai 2009 came within a whisker – or two goals, to be precise – of matching this total, while Ravenna 2011 sits third in the charts, with 269 strikes hitting the net in Italy.


79 Madjer's goal haul from six editions of the Beach Soccer World Cup, putting him way out in front as the tournament's all-time leading scorer. The three-time adidas Golden Boot winner has been at least twice as prolific as his four closest challengers, a Brazilian quartet who have all now retired: Bruno (39), Andre (39), Benjamin (35) and Buru (35). Furthermore, the veteran owns the records for the most hat-tricks (16, five more than Andre) and goals in a single match (seven; he is also the only player to have managed six). With a strike rate of 2.40 goals a game at the showpiece event, the 38-year-old Portuguese forward will fancy his chances of adding to his tally on home sand.


43 years, three months and 16 days will be Roberto Acuna's age when Paraguay open their campaign against Russia, giving him the distinction of being the oldest player at Portugal 2015 and the fifth most senior in the competition's history. El Toro will be featuring in his fourth finals campaign on the world stage, having previously graced the FIFA World Cup™ on grass in 1998, 2002 and 2006.


30 games was the length of Brazil's record unbeaten streak at the tournament between 2005 and 2011. Next up come Russia, who did not lose in 12 matches en route to claiming the last two titles and are out to extend that run. The holders' last defeat came against Switzerland in the quarter-finals in Dubai.


10 of the 12 Russian players that lifted the trophy in Tahiti will be back for more in Portugal. The only members of the squad last time round to miss out are goalkeeper Danila Ippolitov and pivot Egor Eremeev, who have been replaced by Ivan Ostrovskii and Artur Paporotnyi respectively.


3 adidas Golden Glove-winning keepers, of the four players to have scooped the accolade, will be in action in Portugal: Brazil's Mao (the winner of the prize in 2009), Russia's Andrey Bukhlitsky (2011) and Spain's Dona (2013). The odd one out is another Spaniard, Roberto Valeiro, who took home the award in 2008. Another trio is formed by the countries who have qualified for every edition of the tournament, namely Brazil, Argentina and Japan.


1 Madagascar will be the sole debutants in Portugal, taking the total number of countries to have graced the Beach Soccer World Cup to 34.


(Source: FIFA.com)

February 12, 2020 - February 16, 2020
Group Stage - Group A
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 3 2 0 1 13 11 2 6
Lokomotiv LOK 3 2 0 1 25 15 10 6
Levante1 LUD 3 1 0 2 19 16 3 3
2019 alanya belediyespor ABS 3 1 0 2 15 30 -15 3
Group Stage - Group B
Spartak logo copia web SPK 3 2 1 0 17 7 10 8
Braga SCB 3 2 0 1 18 13 5 6
Flamengo FLA 3 1 0 2 11 13 -2 3
Grasshopper club zurich GCZ 3 0 0 3 8 21 -13 0
Play-off for 7th Place
Grasshopper club zurich GCZ 4 - 8 ABS 2019 alanya belediyespor
Play-off for 5th Place
Levante1 LUD 7 - 2 GCZ Grasshopper club zurich
Flamengo FLA 6 - 5 ABS 2019 alanya belediyespor
Levante1 LUD 5 - 4 FLA Flamengo
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 2 - 7 SCB Braga
Spartak logo copia web SPK 3 - 1 LOK Lokomotiv
Play-off for 3rd place
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 2 - 6 LOK Lokomotiv
Braga SCB 8 - 3 SPK Spartak logo copia web
Country TV
Banner livebroadcast
Store puma