Israel nation league champions 2013
29 Jul 2013

Kfar-Qasem makes history in Israeli league

Maccabi Netanya, succumb to Kfar-Qasems´ fortitude in exciting Israeli National League final

The best of the best in the Israeli National League came together at Poleg arena in Netanya to decide who would walk away as league champion. Kfar-Qasem, the only Arab and Israeli combined side in the highly competitive 10 team Israeli league, came from behind to capture the title 5-3 over Maccabi Netanya. In securing the cup, Kfar-Qasem became the first team in the Israeli league to win the championship twice, and they did it in consecutive years. 

No Israeli team had ever won two league championships and after winning the cup last year, Kfar-Qasem was determined to accomplish the task. Netanya would not make it that easy and the opening period was chock full of defensive stops and spectacular saves. Both squads were in the process of feeling out their opponent and that was the precursor to the unbelievably exciting second and third periods. The first period ended with the score just how the game began, 0-0.

Maccabi Netanya seemed like the current champion early in the second period, demonstrating why they deserved to be in the final as they had the look of a team that was not going to allow history to be made in their home. Netanya scored first, after a minor mistake by Kfar-Qasem left the ball trickling in front of the goal line while one player from each side went charging to make a play. Lam of Netanya got there first and made sure he put his team ahead 1-0. Kfar-Qasem had a secret weapon though, the league and game MVP, Dino of Brazil. He scored less than a minute later to level the score at one. Netanya refused to get rattled and a minute later, they had a Brazilian of their own, Deginio, score to put the home team up by 1 again. That is how the period would end, Netanya up 2-1.

The final period proved to be the most astonishing as both teams scored goals, displayed defense, and showed how badly they wanted the cup. Four minutes into the final period, Dino of Kfar-Qasem scored his second goal of the match to equalize the score at 2. Dino was not satisfied with two goals, so he completed the hat trick late in the period to give his team their first lead of the match, 3-2. Netanya was not satisfied either and a mere two minutes later they scored as well to tie the game at 3 with four minutes to play. Netanyas´ momentum stopped almost immediately as Kfar-Qasem scored on the ensuing kick-off to put themselves ahead for good, 4-3. In the final minute Kfar-Qasem added an insurance goal and the final ended in their favour, 5-3.

The groundbreaking win for Kfar-Qasem gave them the league title for the second year in a row and the debate can now start as to what kind of dynasty they can become. The loss, and at home, will surely motivate Maccabi Netanya to try even harder next season to reach the finals in hopes of dethroning the champions, whether on the road to the final or in a rematch. Eight other extremely determined teams will have a lot to say about the outcome beginning next season. 

November 06, 2018 - November 10, 2018
Group Stage - Group A
Brazil BRA 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Uae UAE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt EGY 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Spain ESP 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Group Stage - Group B
Tahiti TAH 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Iran IRN 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Russia RUS 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Usa USA 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Play-off for 7th Place
Play-off for 5th Place
Play-off for 3rd place
Country TV
Banner livebroadcast
Banner beachbabes