FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Bahamas 2017
07 May 2017

Brazil crowned world champions in The Bahamas

Gilberto Costa's men lifted the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup title on Sunday in Nassau.

Brazil win fifth Beach Soccer World Cup

Brazil were crowned FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup champions for a record fifth time at Bahamas 2017 after a 6-0 victory over Tahiti in the final in Nassau.

The South Americans needed just 14 seconds to open the scoring as Mauricinho notched them ahead following a lightning-quick turnover in Tahiti's half.

Mauricinho then turned provider as he assisted Datinha, who finished from close range to double their lead. Teva Zavaroni had a golden opportunity to head in Tahiti's first of the match late in the opening period but Brazil's backline did just enough to put him off and keep their two-goal lead going into the second period.

Brazil extended their advantage midway through the match as Mauricinho doubled his tally, having seen Datinha return the favour for his earlier assist.

The 27-year-old dispatched the opportunity impressively with the outside of his right foot. Catarino made it four for Brazil with a low left-footed drive that found its way into the bottom corner to seal the deal for Gilberto Sousa's side.

To add gloss to the result, Daniel lost his marker and ghosted in at the back post to be picked out by Rodrigo on a corner kick.

He then doubled his tally just over a minute later with an assured, left-footed finish.

Iran finish third to make Asian history

Iran ended their Bahamas 2017 campaign on a high with a 5-3 win against Italy in the play-off for third place to become Asia's highest ever finishers at the Beach Soccer World Cup.

These two teams met during the group stage at Bahamas 2017 with Italy edging Iran 5-4 in a thrilling match. The Europeans scored first that day, but it was Iran's turn this time.

Mohammad Ahmadzadeh scored his seventh goal of the tournament when he put away a second-chance opportunity after Moslem Mesigar's shot was parried into his path.

Ahmadzadeh scored his second of the match early in the second period on another second-chance opportunity to take his overall tally to eight. Mohammad Mokhtari then struck a phenomenal overhead kick to give Iran a three-goal cushion, which was fitting as Iran have attempted the most overhead kicks of anyone in the Bahamas.

Italy got back into the match courtesy of none other than Gabriele Gori. Two goals took him on to 17 - the second a curling effort from a set piece - to move him beyond Dejan Stankovic into second place for biggest hauls at a single competition.

Less than a minute later, Mesigar scored his second of the tournament. Dario Ramacciotti brought the Azzurri back to within one goal with a well-placed, close range header.

But it wasn't enough for the Italians as Ahmadzadeh completed his hat-trick with a late penalty to ultimately seal Iran's place in the record books.


Sunday results

Iran 5-3 Italy

Tahiti 0-6 Brazil


1st - Brazil

2nd - Tahiti

3rd - Iran

adidas Golden Scorer

1st: Gabriele Gori (Italy) - 17

2nd: Rodrigo (Brazil) - 9

3rd: Mohammad Ahmadzadeh (Iran) - 9

adidas Golden Glove

Peyman Hosseini (Iran)

adidas Golden Ball

Gold: Mohammad Ahmadzadeh (Iran)

Silver: Mauricinho (Brazil)

Bronze: Datinha (Brazil)

Fair Play Award


February 12, 2020 - February 16, 2020
Group Stage - Group A
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 3 2 0 1 13 11 2 6
Lokomotiv LOK 3 2 0 1 25 15 10 6
Levante1 LUD 3 1 0 2 19 16 3 3
2019 alanya belediyespor ABS 3 1 0 2 15 30 -15 3
Group Stage - Group B
Spartak logo copia web SPK 3 2 1 0 17 7 10 8
Braga SCB 3 2 0 1 18 13 5 6
Flamengo FLA 3 1 0 2 11 13 -2 3
Grasshopper club zurich GCZ 3 0 0 3 8 21 -13 0
Play-off for 7th Place
Grasshopper club zurich GCZ 4 - 8 ABS 2019 alanya belediyespor
Play-off for 5th Place
Levante1 LUD 7 - 2 GCZ Grasshopper club zurich
Flamengo FLA 6 - 5 ABS 2019 alanya belediyespor
Levante1 LUD 5 - 4 FLA Flamengo
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 2 - 7 SCB Braga
Spartak logo copia web SPK 3 - 1 LOK Lokomotiv
Play-off for 3rd place
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 2 - 6 LOK Lokomotiv
Braga SCB 8 - 3 SPK Spartak logo copia web
Country TV
Banner livebroadcast
Store puma